Friday, September 30, 2011

Book Review: Bloody Little Secrets

Today's review is on Bloody Little Secrets by Karly Kirkpatrick

Bloody Little Secrets is a delightful YA book.  Somewhat reminiscent of the Twilight saga, BLS's main character Victoria has spunk, brains, and is highly independent.  What is most unique about this book is that Victoria is Latino. (This is the first vampire book I have found about a Latino FEMALE vampire.)

Vicky Hernandez wakes up in a coffin frantic and confused.  After literally clawing her way out she is grabbed from behind by someone.  When she frees herself from his grasp, he is thrown back against a tree branch.  The branch impales him through the heart and he turns to dust.  Shortly after Vicky realizes that she is a vampire.

Intent on being a GOOD vampire, Vicky leaves her small town and finds herself a new "life".  She creates a fake aunt with her powers of persuasion and enrolls in a new school where she finds friends who accept her as she is, and an everlasting love.  But all is not picture perfect.  The vampire that created her wants her back.  She is a Daywalker, and her blood may hold the key for others to do the same.

Action, adventure, love and romance abound in BLS.  As are the numerous editing errors.  I can not stress enough that good editing is paramount.  Errors make reading difficult as it staggers the natural flow of reading.  I never know if it is simply the copy that I am given or if the errors are actually in the published book, but either way the errors should not be there. 

BLS is a good book, but the editing decreases my rating.

3 of 5 stars

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Book Review: An Unexpected Bride

Today's review is on An Unexpected Bride by Shadonna Richards.

An Unexpected Bride was an unexpected delight to read.  It showed the extent to which one may go to ensure the dieing wish of a loved one.

Emma Wiggins is the last member of the Wiggins line.  Her grand father; who raised her along with his now deceased wife, is in a long-term care facility facing his own mortality.  He is dieing of cancer.  He has but one unfulfilled wish.  He wanted to see his grand daughter married before he left this earth.  So what does a girl do in this instance?  Why she fabricates an fiance of course.

Enter the marriage phobic Evan, Emma's secret crush.  He is handsome, successful, and built like a god.  Now she just has to convince him to marry her.  Thankfully he agrees.  After all, Emma's not to hard on the eyes herself and he finds himself attracted to her even though he never mixes work with pleasure.

The book flips from Emma's life and perspective to Evan's as they each tackle life and "find" each other.  They each realize how much passion, desire and love they really have for the other.

I have but only two negative things to say about this book.  First off, there are many spelling errors and grammatical errors through out.  It is difficult to really enjoy a good story line when there are so many mistakes.  Get a good editor or a second person to recheck your manuscript.  Secondly, what's with the ending?  I fell deflated!  I would have liked another chapter or two.  One to tell me how that last conversation between Evan and his dad went, and how he made the decision to go through with the wedding.  The other to describe the actual ceremony.  As it's written, you build everything up to the wedding and leave the reader hanging.

All in all I actually enjoyed this book even though it's not my usual "cup of tea."

3 of 5 stars

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Book Review: Passion

Today's review is on Passion by Lauren Kate

Passion is the third installment in Kate's Fallen series and sadly has left ME falling. Don't get me wrong, the book was as well written as the other two books, but the adventures in Passion were just to numerous and boring. Plus they left me with a nagging question.

Why does it seem as though Daniel is also reborn along with Luce? I was under the impression that he did not age, and simply waited for her to be reborn into each new life. If I am mistaken, please, someone tell me because I can't seem to get that question out of my mind. And how many times did we really have to read about Luce's past for her to figure out how she really felt about him? I kept hoping that the next chapter would be about something else only to be lead to another trip down memory lane.

To have gone through all of those pages and to feel let down? Just not the experience I was looking for, especially since I enjoyed the first two books. Here's to hoping that book four is better.

2 of 5 stars

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Book Review: Silence, (Wicked Woods #4)

Today's review is on Silence by Kailin Gow

Silence is the fourth book in Gow's Wicked Woods series, and though it answers all of the questions readers were anxious for, I didn't find it as enjoyable as the three previous installments.

In Silence we are introduced to the magical world of Palisor where Briony finds that she is the last surviving blood heir of the royal line.

There are all of the necessary elements for excitement in the pages, but for me it felt flat. Perhaps I was looking for more growth from Briony, rather than reading about more battles with "evil" vampires. How many books does it take before she chooses between Fallon and Kevin? When will she realize that the events that have happened require her to grow up? Let me see some more maturity in the development of the character's as each book progresses. Even YA's need to know that life requires us to make tough decisions, so lets see the character's we write and read about make some too.

I'm not saying that the book wasn't a good book, but as many of my friends can attest, if a book stands out for me, I get it read in one day. Silence took just a little longer.

2.5 of 5 stars

Monday, September 19, 2011

Book Review: Awaking

Today's review is on Awaking by Madeline Freeman

Awaking is the first book in Freeman's The Naturals series and has great promise. The book is well written and well edited. My only real complaint is that it is a bit to slow. (The real action doesn't happen until your through about 75% of the book.)

The story centers on the life of Morgan Abbey. A soon to be senior at ABC High School and town fortune teller. Morgan's life has never been exceptionally easy. She's been raised by her father since her mothers disappearance ten years ago. In that time she has become to be known as a freak. But that hasn't hurt her "business" any.

In comes Kellen, a handsome and mysterious young man, and things suddenly start to spin out of control. Kellen informs Morgan that she is a Veneret, and not just any Veneret, she is a Natural and The One who they have been waiting for to bring them back to the top of the food chain so to speak.

With all that is going on in the story, I'm not sure where or if there is going to be some sort of love triangle. I mean book one just left off with Corbin and Morgan sharing a kiss, but then there's Lucas and perhaps even Wen. I guess I'll just have to wait for book two to find some answers. Oh, and why does she refer to her parents by their first names?

All in all Awaking is a nice average, if a little slow YA book.

3 of 5 stars

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Book Review: Eye of the Tempest

Today's review is on Eye of the Tempest by Nicole Peeler

Out of the four books in Peeler's Jane True series, this latest one takes the cake when it comes to sexual tension. Peeler's use of witty sarcasm and one line zingers, makes for an exciting and humorous story.

While Jane and the sexy barghest Ayan are finally exploring their relationship; *wink, wink*, something always happens right at the point where things could get a little interesting and hot, hot, hot. After all, it's not easy to be intimate when your being attacked by humans, attacked by Phaedra, saving the world, and your love interest is turned into an actual dog.

Needles to say, through all of the mess that happens to Jane in this latest installment, she rises to the occasion and becomes the champion she has always been.

Funny, witty, sarcastic, drama, and sexy? Yup Eye of the Tempest has it all. An excellent addition to Peeler's Jane True series.

4 of 5 stars

Friday, September 16, 2011

Book Review: The Hand He Dealt

Today's review is on The Hand He Dealt by Tanith Davenport

This is definitely a book for ADULTS as it shows both hetero and homosexual content.

I began to read The Hand He Dealt yesterday, and I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN.
Hot, steamy,and sexy, even if it were 10below in my room, I would have had to turn on the AC to cool off.

Astra is in college and working in the gaming industry. Young and in love with Harry everything seems fine until she sees him coming out of PINK, what she thinks is a strip club. When Harry tells her it was actually a gay bar and that he is just experimenting things begin to change, giving Astra freedom to experiment too.

Astra begins a casual relationship with her best friend Sasha and then begins having a threesome as Sasha's boyfriend Ash comes into the fold. Ash secretly has a major crush on Astra and becomes very protective of her. Sasha knows that she and Ash are not in love, and also knows how Ash feels about Astra and knows that eventually the two of them will be together.

Through the drama of her and Harry's relationship Astra finds her own inner strength and true love with Ash. While Harry comes to terms with his own homosexuality.

Yes, the plot is a little lacking, but as I read I found myself laughing out loud making for a very pleasurable read.

4 of 5 stars

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Book Review: Burn

Today's review is on Burn by Addison Moore

Burn is the third installment in Moore's Celestra series and was as exceptional as the previous two installments.

I have to say that I have been hooked on this series from the very beginning, and have been rooting for Gage the entire time. Even through all of the drama that is Skyla's life, Gage has been there unconditionally.

In Burn Chloe's true colors come shining through. Skyla finally realizes that she has NEVER really been on her side. It is a great twist in the series as the reader may not have seen it coming.

Marshall is an extraordinary addition to the series. We never really know if he is helping Skyla or if he is only out for himself. Just when you think his feelings are genuine he makes a snide remark or does something to make you question his actions again. The events at the end of the book lead me to think that he will eventually do the right thing, but you never know for sure. Something drastic is coming in book four and I think that may be where we find the answers.

With Skyla's new found knowledge of who the Counts are around her, I am anxiously waiting for the next book.

Each installment is a great one day read that keeps you turning page after page to see what happens next. Addison Moore's Celestra series gains high praise from this Gothic Mom!!

5 of 5 stars!!

Wednesday, September 14, 2011


Okay everyone, it's contest time.

Since I will be wrapping up my book Before The Darkness this week I have decided to come up with this contest for my friends and followers.

How may words will be in the final first draft copy of my book?

Here are the rules:

    1.  Follow my blog here, on Twitter, or on Facebook
    2.  Send me a message, or leave a comment with your guess (1 guess per person)
    3.  Leave me your email address
It's easy!!  So what will you win??

You could win a $25 iTunes Giftcard!!  So enter your guess today!!

Monday, September 12, 2011

Book Review: The Hunt

Today's review is on The Hunt by C.J. Ellisson

The Hunt is the second book in Ellisson's The V V Inn series, and though it has less sex than the first book, it more than makes up for it in mystery and suspense.

Book two takes the reader through the actions and emotions of each character by letting them tell there side of the story, which for me was quite enjoyable. Writing in this manner brings the character's to life, and allows the reader to fall in love with them.

In The Hunt, Dria; aka Vivian, has agreed to host a hunt for her guests. They will be hunting a rogue vampire accused of killing humans, and bringing unwanted attention to the supernaturals. The rogue however, is not an easily captured and killed opponent, and questions arise as to weather she is truly guilty or if she is just a pawn in the conspiracy against Dria.

Though the books still need some work they have potential to reach for the stars.  I will be watching this series closely in the hopes of seeing the writer grow.

If I could offer my own two cents for the next installment, I would like to see Rafe accept what is going on with Jon and Dria with open arms. After all, isn't two on one way more fun? >.<

3 of 5 stars

Book Review: Vampire Vacation

Today's review is on Vampire Vacation by C.J. Ellisson

Vampire Vacation is the firs installment in Ellisson's, The V V Inn series and is bound to tickle your fancy. It has action, mystery, love, and sex. It's a wonderful rendition the modern vampire woman.  She can be beautiful, successful, and powerful all in one.

Dria; aka Vivian, and her human mate Rafe own and operate the V V Inn in the Arctic Circle that caters to their guests every need.  Hot tubs in the snowdrifts, secluded cabins, an indoor pool decorated like the tropics, willing blood donors, and wonderful theme rooms with whips and chains. 
Yes.  Willing blood donors.  You see the guests are very special at the V V Inn.  It is after all THE vacation destination for vampires. 
And with the murder of an unregistered guest, this weeks special is hunting down the killer.

Ellisson does a fantastic job of adding in her own flavor of sex and sarcasm leaving men and women readers wanting to grab their mate and have some fun!  I'm looking forward to reading book #2.  With this said however, I would like to see a little less meaningless sex, sex, sex, and a little more story line. Make the sex have substance and need along with the erotic edge, but there has to be reason behind it.

2 of 5 stars

Book Review: Tremble

Today's review is on Tremble by Addison Moore

Tremble is the second installment in Moore's Celestra series, and though it is as such, it could possibly be a great stand alone book as well.
With it's creative and imaginary world, the reader becomes instantly invested in the lives of Skyla, Logan, and Gage.

Tremble is action and emotion packed as the young trio continues to try and keep Skyla safe from the Counts, and sometimes from herself. With her ability to time travel coming easier, Skyla is determined to save her father. This however may cost her the life of Gage and Ellis who she finds out is actually a Count himself.

Now there's a new threat to Skyla. Marshall is a Sector, and he seems to want Skyla to be with him as his wife. He seems genuine, and his touch feels oh so good, but choosing him has dire consequences.

Tremble is a great one day read. In fact it is so well written and captivating that I just couldn't put it down. A fantastic YA book.

4 of 5 stars

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Book Review: Smoke and Mirrors

Today's review is on Smoke and Mirrors by Rue Volley

Smoke and Mirrors is the second installment in Volley's Blood and Light series and is a fantastic improvement from the first.  Whereas book one was like a chore to read, Smoke and Mirrors was a joy.
Not only is it great to see the development of character's through a series of books, it is equally if not more exciting to see a writer improve through each new work of art.  Volley has done just that. 

Volley was able to keep the story flowing smoothly by keeping the focus of danger and suspense simpler than she did in the first book.  Though there were still many dangers facing Rue and her new "family", they were not repetitive in nature.  Although I was a bit surprised that the relationship between Rue and Josh did not progress much further than where it was at the end of the first book.  With that said; however, I loved how Volley used that in the end.  (I even shed a few tears)

I am looking forward to the third and final installment in the Blood and Light series.  I am caught up in finding out what happens next to Rue, Josh, and the rest of the gang.  I am also looking forward to seeing how much more Volley has grown in her writing as well.

3.5 of 4 stars

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Book Review: Spell Bound

Today's review is on Spell Bound by Kelley Armstrong

Spell Bound is the 12th book in Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series.  What began as an instant favorite series for me has now become somewhat of a disappointment.  Almost nothing that had made the series in the beginning has remained. 

Spell Bound picks up just where Waking the Witch had left off, leaving Savannah and Adam to search for the reason behind the disappearance of her powers.  However, that doesn't take center stage in this book.  Something bigger and badder needs their attention.  A war is coming.  There is an uprising of Supe's who no longer want to hide in the shadows, which could cause trouble for everyone. Nothing, however was solved.

There were so many unanswered questions left at the ending, but what I felt was really missing was the developing of Savannah and Adam's relationship.  I don't know what it is, but it seems that many of the authors that I have followed have lost the spark that they use to have.  The racy love scenes have vanished making what was an adult series a bubble-gum series.

There is just one more scheduled installment in this series.  I really hope it has more to offer the fans that have been there from the beginning.

3 of 5 stars

Monday, September 5, 2011

Book Review: Blood and Light

Today's review is on Blood and Light by Rue Volley

Blood and Light is the first installment in Volley's Blood and Light series. I agreed to review this book based on it's summary and was looking forward to a new and exciting story. However, this 400+ page book was like an albatross tied around my neck.

Though the central premiss of the story is enticing, the story seemed to go on and on and on. The characters kept being captured over and over by the same group and ending up in the same places. Bor-ing.

Also, I know there is suppose to be a love triangle between Rue, Josh, and Johnathan, but I'm not really feel it so to speak. It's obvious that both of them are in love with Rue, but nothing really happens.

For a 400+ page book I either want to be so enraptured that I just CAN NOT put it down, or I want to be on the edge of my seat waiting to see what comes next. Blood and Light did neither of these things for me. The events in the story are to repetitive. Perhaps Volley should have broken this tome into smaller books instead of trying to write a "Twilight" sized book.

2 of 5 stars

Book Review: In The Shadows

Today's review is on In The Shadows by Julieanne Lunch

In The Shadows is by far an excellent book. At first I wasn't sure about what it was about, but by the end of the third chapter I was in for the long haul. It is an excellent addition to anyone's vampire collection.

There are so many trials that poor 18 year-old Giselle Bergman must face. The betrayal of her boyfriend Marc, her best friend Alex, and others around her it drove me to tears twice!!

Giselle is brought into the world of vampires in the most dramatic of ways. After finding out that Marc had slept with Evie, Alex helps her get revenge on of all days her prom where she had just been crowned queen.

She soon realizes that her best friend Alex isn't all that he seems to be. He has been controlling her life without her knowing it and he doesn't plan on ending his control over her any time soon. He seemed so nice, so caring, and so loving towards her that his betrayal hurts that much more.

Now she is married to Alex and knows that he is a vampire, and now she is pregnant. In order to protect her, her father-in-law persuades her to go away with him and become his lover. Though the time together is short, she ends up falling in love with him only to be left on her own when he dies protecting her. Now she's on the run with Antoine, another vampire while others are out to kill her, and Alex and his mother are out to get her unborn child.

Oh, and by the way, she had to leave her dieing mother and the love of her teen life behind for all of this.

Wow!! Can there be any more drama in this book? In The Shadows is a thrilling book that will leave you with red eyes like the vampire's in this book!


5 of 5 stars

Saturday, September 3, 2011

Book Review: Wolfsbane (Nightshade #2)

Today's review is on Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer

Wolfsbane is the second installment in Cremer's Nightshade series. Though I was almost instantly captivated by the first book, Wolfsbane just couldn't rise to the challenge. Could it be that Ms. Cremer began writing not really knowing where she wanted to go with story?

Calla wakes up at the compound of the Searcher's thinking that she is about to die. The Searcher's however only want to form an alliance against the Keeper's who have lied to the Guardian's all their lives. Now Calla, Shay, and a host of new "friends" are going back to Vail to rescue the rest of the pack, but not everyone will make it back alive.

Wolfsbane focuses to much on the history of the Keeper's and Searcher's, making for long periods of well, boring. There are what seems like childish banter between the some of the Searcher's and even a weak attempt of a rape scene. Then, what could have been a lovely coming together scene between Calla and Shay was short and only implied.

I know I have said it before, but here it goes again. If you want certain elements in your story you must see them through. If you don't know how to write and age appropriate scene, read from someone who does.
I feel that in order to be a good writer, you need to be a good reader as well.

2 of 5 stars